Microwave announce new album

Microwave have announced their long-awaited fourth full-length record Let’s Start Degeneracy, the record is out 26th April 2024 via Pure Noise Records.

Its title, taken from a conservative politician’s take on drugs in 1970, captures the band’s newfound liberated spirit, and its tracks play by no one’s rules but their own. At various points the Atlanta trio pull together a multitude of influences ranging from ambient pop and R&B to psychedelia and yes, even Sublime. To celebrate the announcement the band have released brand new single ‘Bored Of Being Sad’.

Watch video for ‘Bored Of Being Sad’ below

Lyrically, Let’s Start Degeneracy is loaded with revelations, some of which came to vocalist/guitarist Nathan Hardy after experiences with ayahuasca in Peru with drummer Timothy “Tito” Pittard. As the pandemic wound down, the two reconvened with bassist/vocalist Tyler Hill and together, found their way back to being Microwave again.

“It’s about letting go of attachments and behaviours that aren’t serving you and trying to shake off your programming and not be motivated by fear and guilt and shame,” says Hardy. “It’s about learning to be happy and take care of yourself.”

“Bored of Being Sad” finds Hardy musing on being a band in the biz, and how the idea of ‘sadness’ has been romanticized instead of being treated as something to resolve.

“I was dead, I was looking for companies to sling shirts at the funeral”

Musically, it’s right up there with one of their most popular tracks, “Lighterless,” in its mid tempo mastery; Hardy actually wrote  this track in the Much Love days, but it didn’t feel complete until he revisited it when working on Let’s Start Degeneracy.

Let’s Start Degeneracy Tracklisting

  1. Portals
  2. Ferrari
  3. Circling The Drain
  4. Bored of Being Sad
  5. Straw Hat
  6. LSD
  7. Omni
  8. Strangers
  9. Concertito
  10. Huperzine

Recently the band announced one of the best co-headline tour pairings in recent years, the brilliant MICROWAVE and the wonderful THE DIRTY NIL have announced a co-headline UK and European tour through April 2024. Dates will start in Europe, and finish up in the UK, with the London show happening on April 24th at The Scala.


  • 7th April 2024 – Effenaar, Eindhoven, NL
  • 8th April 2024 – Point Ephémère, Paris, France
  • 9th April 2024 – MTC, Cologne, GER
  • 10th April 2024 – Feierwerk (Kranhalle), Munich, GER
  • 12th April 2024 – Cassiopeia, Berlin, GER
  • 13th April 2024 – headCRASH, Hamburg, GER
  • 15th April 2024 – Rescue Rooms, Nottingham, UK
  • 16th April 2024 – Gorilla, Manchester, UK
  • 17th April 2024 – Oran Mor, Glasgow, UK
  • 19th April 2024 – Leadmill (Steel Stage), Sheffield, UK
  • 20th April 2024 – Boileroom, Guilford, UK
  • 22nd April 2024 – Fleece, Bristol, UK
  • 23rd April 2024 – Patterns, Brighton, UK
  • 24th April 2024 – Scala, London, UK

(via Microwave)